toggle menu
Live: Gold FM 92.5 Gold Coast
Listen live

Paul Kelly Releases Brand New Album "Nature" Today With Bumper 27-Song DVD

Out now

Paul Kelly Releases Brand New Album "Nature" Today With Bumper 27-Song DVD Supplied

Paul Kelly has today released his brand new album, the deluxe version of which includes a 27-song DVD.

Nature follows Kelly's 2017 multi-ARIA Award winning Life is Fine and came about almost by accident, he says.

"Most of the pieces were written over the last four years in and around the recording sessions for The Merri Soul Sessions, Seven Sonnets and A Song and Life is Fine," Kelly wrote in a letter accompanying the album.

"I didn't realise I had the makings of another album until I put the songs in a folder and saw the titles staring me in the face.

"Sometimes you don't know what you're doing until you look back."

Nature compromises 12 songs, five of which are poems from literary legends like Walt Whitman, Sylvia Plath and Phillip Larkin.

WATCH: Paul Kelly Sings With The One I Love Live And Acoustic

Indeed four of the other songs are also poems, written by Kelly and later put to music.

"I went into the studio in March and May this year with my usual boon companions - Peter Luscombe on drums, Bill McDonald on bass, Ash Naylor and Dan Kelly on guitars and Cameron Bruce on keyboards," Kelly continued.

"I think of Nature as a companion piece to Life is Fine, itself full of moons, rain, rocks, rivers, seas, smells and lovers."

Physical copies of Nature come in two versions - standard, a 12-song CD or vinyl and the deluxe edition, which includes a 27-song DVD of Kelly's performance from the forecourt of the Sydney Opera House last year.

Of course, the man himself appeared live on level 3 for a famous Mix Session... you can watch it in all its glory right here.


Official Links:
Apple Music